22.10.10

ACT

I'm not comparing myself to people.

I am simply feeling inadequate when the people around me happen to do much better. THere is nothing wrong with feeling inferior when you struggle at something everyone else seems to succeed at.

When I say struggle: it's not really a struggle. It's average, some may even say better than average. But even so, when you're around people who do excellent, your better than average starts to look more and more like a struggle. It's frustrating because I'm not a good test-taker. I'm better at essays than multiple-choice and (in the words of Chloe) "it's much easier, when you know what you're talking about."

Standardized tests have little information you can prepare for. You have no idea what information you'll be tested on. All you know is the amount of questions, the amount of time, and that the topics are over things you "should have covered during high school."

To me, I have trouble understanding how one test can account for all of the different types of possible classes a student takes. None of them are going to be the same, and based on the information: you could learn very little of what will be on the test. Maybe no English teacher has ever gone over grammar since 1st grade, so there's no telling how many grammatical errors you make naturally and do not realize it. (Obviously Mr. Wilcox, if you've been reading my writing long enough, you'll notice I have comma issues that no one has explicitly corrected.)

SO basically. I have to go in tomorrow morning. And I'm nervous. The end.

No comments:

Post a Comment